Son House : Father of the Delta Blues

Son House : Father of the Delta Blues


Son House : Father of the Delta Blues : Complete 65’ Sessions.

Son House (vocal, steel-bodied National guitar), Al Wilson (guitar, harmonica)

Columbia 9217

Pure Pleasure Records : 2 LPs 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Death Letter
A2 - Pearline
A3 - Louise McGee
A4 - John The Revelator
B1 - Empire State Express
B2 - Preachin' Blues
B3 - Grinnin' In Your face
B4 - Sundown
C1 - Levee Camp Moan
C2 - President Kennedy
C3 - A Down The Staff
C4 - Motherless Children
D1 - Yonder Comes My Mother
D2 - Shake It and Break It
D3 - Pony Blues
D4 - Downhearted Blues

Recorded in 1965

After being rediscovered by the folk-blues community in the early '60s, Son House rose to the occasion and recorded this magnificent set of performances. Allowed to stretch out past the shorter running time of the original 78s, House turns in wonderful, steaming performances of some of his best-known material. On some tracks, House is supplemented by folk-blues researcher/musician Alan Wilson, who would later become a member of the blues-rock group Canned Heat and here plays some nice second guitar and harmonica on several cuts. This two-disc set features alternate takes, some unissued material and some studio chatter from producer John Hammond, Sr. that ocassionally hints at the chaotic nature inherent to some of these '60s "rediscovery" sessions. While not as overpowering as his earlier work (what could be?), all of these sides are so power packed with sheer emotional involvement from House, they're an indispensable part of his canonade. 

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.