Shakey Jake : Mouth Harp Blues

Shakey Jake : Mouth Harp Blues


Shakey Jake (vocal, harmonica), Robert Banks (piano), Jimmy Lee Robinson (guitar), Leonard Gaskin (bass), Junior Blackmon (drums)

Prestige Bluesville 1027

Analogue Productions Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45rpm)

Limited Edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

1 - Mouth Harp Blues
2 - Love My Baby
3 - Jake's Cha Cha
4 - Gimme A Smile
5 - My Broken Heart
6 - Angry Lover
7 - Things Is Alright
8 - Easy Baby
9 - Things Are Different Baby
10 - It Won't Happen Again

Recorded in November 1960 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.

The late James Harris earned the moniker "Shakey Jake" due to his proficiency at dice, but he was equally adept at the blues game. The Arkansas-born, Chicago-based singer and harmonica blower traveled to Rudy Van Gelder's New Jersey studio in November 1960 to record Mouth Harp Blues.. Jake brought along Jimmie Lee Robinson, the brilliant, fast-fingered guitarist best known for his work with Little Walter's band. Also making tasty contributions to the session was Robert Banks, the New York R&B and gospel studio organist who, in this case, ably appointed himself as a two-fisted blues piano stylist. Among the 10 selections is the distinctively loping "Easy Baby," a tune also associated with Jake's nephew Magic Sam.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray at AcousTech, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at RTI.