Quincy Jones : Birth of a Band

Quincy Jones : Birth of a Band


Quincy Jones (arranger, conductor), Zoot Sims, Sam Taylor, Bennie Golson, Budd Johnson (tenor sax), Jerome Richardson (alto & tenor sax, flute), Frank Wess (alto sax, flute), Phil Woods (alto sax), Sahib Shibab, Danny Bank (baritone sax), Joe Newman, Harry Edison, Ernir Royal, Joe Wilder (trumpet), Clark Terry (fluegel horn), Jimmy Cleveland, Billy Byers, Urbie Green, Melba Liston, Tom Mitchell (trombone), Julius Watkins (French horn), Patti Bown, Moe Wechsler (piano), Kenny Burrell, Les Spann (guitar), Milt Hinton (bass), Sam Woodyard, Jimmy Crawford, Osie Johnson, Don Lamond (drums)

Recorded in 1959

Mercury 60129

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - The Birth of a Band
A2 - Moanin'
A3 - I remember Clifford
A4 - Along Came Betty
A5 -  Tickle Toe
B1 - Happy Faces
B2 - Whisper Not
B3 - The Gypsy
B4 - A Change of Pace
B5 - Tuxedo Junction

Recorded February 9, March 9 & 10, May 26, 17 & 28 and June 16, 1959 at Fine Recording Studio in New York City.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com. All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.