Milt Jackson : In a New Setting

Milt Jackson : In a New Setting


Milt Jackson (vibraphone), Jimmy Heath (tenor sax), McCoy Tyner (piano), Bob Cranshaw (bass), Connie Kay (drums)

Limelight 86006

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy!

Add To Cart

1 - Sonny's Blues
2 - I'm Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
3 - Spanish Fly
4 - No Moon At All
5 - Slow Death
6 - Clay's Blues
7 - Lazy Melody
8 - Project-S
9 - Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
10 - That's In
11 - Ineffable

Recorded on December 9, 14 & 28, 1964, in New York City.

For someone like Milt Jackson to declare this a new setting is really saying something. After all, the ageless vibraphonist has recorded in countless small groups capable of any style as well as in big bands, with strings, as a vocalist and as a guitarist too. What's new in this recently reissued 1964 quintet session is the surprising - and surprisingly complimentary - addition of pianist McCoy Tyner (who recorded A Love Supreme the same month).The rest of the group is more familiar to Jackson and includes the marvelous tenor of Jimmy Heath, Bob Cranshaw on bass and MJQ drummer Connie Kay. The other news is that most of the one dozen songs included here are in the three-minute range — all intended for radio play. Jackson has always been one of music's great communicators. But here, on the first of his three Limelight sessions during 1964-66, Jackson is proudly aiming to be heard by more people. Unfortunately, none of these songs ever became a hit. Still, all of tracks are all tremendously catchy and still achieve a high level of easily appreciated musicianship, most especially evident from the leader, Tyner and Heath.

The program is a typical Jackson menu of blues, ballads and a bit of bop with a higher than average content of originals: five by Jackson including the marvelous "Sonny's Blues" and "Clay's Blues," two by Heath, including his near-perfect, near-standard "Project-S" (offering one of the pianist's catchiest-ever solos) and Tyner's "Spanish Fly."

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under