Michel Legrand : Le Grand Jazz

Michel Legrand : Le Grand Jazz


Michel Legrand (arranger, conductor), John Coltrane, Ben Webster (tenor sax), Phil Woods (alto sax), Miles Davis, Donald Byrd (trumpet), Jimmy Cleveland (trombone), Herbie Mann (flute), Bill Evans, Nat Pierce (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), Osie Johnson (drums)

Philips 07373

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - The Jitterbug Waltz
A2 - Nuages
A3 - Night In Tunisia
A4 - Blue And Sentimental
A5 - Stompin' At The Savoy
A6 - Django
B1 - 1. Wild Man Blues
B2 - Rosetta
B3 - 'Round Midnight
B4 - Don't Get Around Much Anymore
B5 - In A Mist

Recorded on June 25, 27 & 30, 1958, at Columbia Studios in New York City.

- "The Jitterbug Waltz," "Django," "Wild Man Blues" & "'Round Midnight" : Recorded June 25, 1958 in New York City :
Miles Davis (trumpet), John Coltrane (tenor sax), Phil Woods (alto sax), Jerome Richardson (baritone sax, bass clarinet), Herbie Mann (flute), Betty Glamann (harp), Barry Calbraith (guitar), Eddie Costa (vibes), Bill Evans (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), Kenny Dennis (drums)

- "Nuages," "Blue And Sentimental," "Rosetta" & "Don't Get Around Much Anymore" : Recorded June 27, 1958 in New York City :
Ben Webster (tenor sax), Herbie Mann (flute), Frank Rehak, Billy Byers, trombone, Jimmy Cleveland, Eddie Bert (trombone), Major Holly (bass, tuba), Hank Jones (piano), George Duvivier (bass), Don Lamond (drums)

- "Night In Tunisia," "Stompin' At The Savoy" & "In A Mist" : Recorded June 30, 1958 in New York City :
Ernie Royal, Art Farmer, Donald Byrd, Joe Wilder (trumpet), Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland (trombone), Gene Quill, Phil Woods (alto sax), Seldon Powell (tenor sax), Teo Macero (baritone sax), James Buffington (french horn), Don Elliot (vibes), Nat Pierce (piano), Milt Hinton (bass), Osie Johnson (drums)

In 1958, a young, successful French composer-arranger-director with a major infatuation on American jazz, worked his way to New York and convinced the very best players of the time to record an album of largely jazz standards. Michel Legrand would go on to win numerous prizes and accolades (3 Oscars, 5 Grammies, 2 Palmes D'or, etc.), but little of what followed matched the sheer brilliance of Legrand Jazz. 

Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Ben Webster, Phil Woods and practically every other session man in town signed up for sessions with Legrand to record his idiosyncratic arrangements of standards ("Django", "Don’t Get Around Much Anymore", "Night in Tunisia", etc.). Instead of regurgitating then current bop styles, he reinvented the very nature of orchestral jazz band repertoire to make a unique and forward-looking statement on the genre. 

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com

American Columbia cover of the same European Philips album.

American Columbia cover of the same European Philips album.