Johnny Hodges : Blues A-Plenty

Johnny Hodges : Blues A-Plenty


Johnny Hodges (alto sax), Ben Webster (tenor sax), Roy Eldridge (trumpet), Vic Dickenson (trombone), Billy Strayhorn (piano), Jimmy Woode (bass), Sam Woodyard (drums)

Verve 6123

Analogue Productions Records : 2 LPs 200 gram (45rpm)

Limited edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

1 - I Didn't Know About You
2 - Cool Your Motor
3 - Gone With the Wind
4 - Honey Hill
5 - Blues-A-Plenty
6 - Don't Take Your Love From Me
7 - Saturday Afternoon Blues
8 - Satin Doll
9 - Reeling and Rocking

Recorded on April 5, 1958 in New York City.

One of the giants of the alto saxophone, Johnny Hodges was perhaps the most important soloist and sideman in Duke Ellington's orchestra from 1928 up to Hodges' death in 1970. The self-taught player made many solo forays during his long career - one of his '50s outfits included a young John Coltrane - but history remembers Hodges for his virtuosic sidemanship, particularly his sensitive rendering of ballads.

This album showcases the great alto saxophonist backed by an all-star group featuring Ben Webster, Roy Eldridge, Vic Dickenson, and an Ellingtonian rhythm section formed by Billy Strayhorn on piano, Jimmy Woode on bass, and Sam Woodyard on drums.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.