Jim Hall : Concierto

Jim Hall : Concierto


Jim Hall (guitar), Chet Baker (trumpet), Paul Desmond (alto sax), Roland Hanna (piano), Ron Carter (bass), Steve Gadd (drums)

CTI 6060

Pure Pleasure Records : 2 LPs 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
A2 - Two's Blues
A3 - The Answer Is Yes
B  - Concierto de Aranjuez
C1 - Rock Skippin'
C2 - Unfinished Business
C3 - You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To (alternate take)
D1 - The Answer Is Yes (alternate take)
D2 - Rock Skippin' (alternate take)

April on 16 & 23, 1975 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.

Jim Hall's Concierto was arguably the greatest LP in the history of CTI and possibly a masterpiece. With two legendary players in the frontline, trumpeter Chet Baker and Paul Desmond, Hall interprets standards and engaging originals. A master of melody who never wastes notes, the centerpiece for this release is Hall's interpretation of one movement from Rodrigo's "Guitar Concerto," arranged by Don Sebesky. 

New tracks include alternate takes of "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To" and "Rock Skippin'," plus "Unfinished Business," an incomplete track that fades following Desmond's solo just as Hall starts to play (This song is actually "La Paloma Azul," a Mexican folk tune played by Paul Desmond while with the Dave Brubeck Quartet about a decade earlier, also known as "The Blue Dove").

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.