Freddie King : Texas Cannonball

Freddie King : Texas Cannonball


Freddie King (guitar), Don Preston (guitar), Leon Russell (piano, organ, slide guitar), John Gallie (organ), Carl Radle, Duck Dunn (bass), Chuck Blackwell, Jim Gordon, Al Jackson (drums)

Shelter 8913

Analogue Productions - Quality Records : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add to Cart

A1 - Lowdown In Lodi
A2 - Reconsider Baby
A3 - Big Legged Woman
A4 - Me and My Guitar
A5 - I'd Rather Be Blind
C1 - Can't Trust Your Neighbor
C2 - You Was Wrong
C3 - How Many More Years
C4 - Ain't No Sunshine
C5 - The Sky Is Crying

Recorded February 1972 at Ardent Studios in Memphis. 

Freddie King, also known as Freddy King and "The Texas Cannonball", was an influential African-American blues guitarist and singer. He perfected his own guitar style based on Texas and Chicago influences and was one of the first artists to have a multi-racial backing band on stage with him at live performances.

Released in 1972 as the second of Freddie King's three releases for Shelter Records, Leon Russell's Tulsa-based label. In fact, when Russell first formed Shelter, he reportedly did so partly to play out his vision of recording one of his favorites, Freddie King.

King's output on Texas Cannonball includes brilliant covers of songs by Howlin' Wolf, Lowell Fulson, Leon Russell, Bill Withers and Elmore James. Backing artists include many musicians who played with Eric Clapton in the 1970s. Clapton has stated many times over that Freddie King was among his chief influences. Supporting musicians include Leon Russell on piano, Carl Radle and Donald "Duck" Dunn on bass, Jim Gordon, Chuck Blackwell and Al Jackson on drums, Don Preston on guitar and John Gallie on organ.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.