Booker Little : Out Front

Booker Little : Out Front


Little Booker (trumpet), Eric Dolphy (alto sax, bass clarinet, flute), Don Friedman (piano), Julian Priester (trombone), Art Davis, Ron Carter (bass), Max Roach (drums, timpani, vibraphone)

Candid 9027

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - We Speak
A2 - Strength And Sanity
A3 - Quiet, Please
B1 - Moods In Free Time
B2 - Man Of Words
B3 - Hazy Hues
B4 - A New Day

Recorded on March 17 and April 4, 1961, at Nola Penthouse Studios in New York City.

Booker Little was the first trumpet soloist to emerge in jazz after the death of Clifford Brown to have his own sound. His tragically brief life (he died at age 23 later in 1961) cut short what would have certainly been a major career. This is supremely soulful modern jazz and one of his best albums ever as a leader. The album's got a tremendous feel from the very first note and there are many strong moments during these consistently challenging and satisfying performances. He had a bold jazz vision that makes us miss his talents even more strongly than before! 

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.