Billie Holiday : Lady Day

Billie Holiday : Lady Day


Billie Holiday (lyrics), Ben Webster, Lester Young (tenor sax), Johnny Hodges (alto sax), Bennie Goodman, Art Shaw (clarinet), Roy Elridge, Buck Clayton (trumpet), Beny Morton (trombone), John Truhart, Dick McDonough (guitar), Teddy Wilson, Joe Bushkin (piano), John Kirby, Pete Peterson (bass), Cozy Cole, Jo Jones (drums)

Columbia 637

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Miss Brown To You
A2 - I Wished On the Moon
A3 - What A Little Moonlight Can Do
A4 - If You Were Mine
A5 - Summertime
A6 - Billie's Blues
B1 - I Must Have That Man!
B2 - Foolin' Myself
B3 - Easy Living
B4 - Me, Myself and I
B5 - A Sailboat In the Moonlight
B6 - I Cried For You

Recorded on July 2, 1935 : A1-3 : Roy Eldridge (trumpet), Benny Goodman (clarinet). Ben Webster (tenor sax), Teddy Wilson (piano), John Truehart (guitar), John Kirby (bass), Cozy Cole (drums)

October 25, 1935 : A4 : Roy Eldridge (trumpet), Benny Morton (trombone), Chu Berry (tenor sax), Teddy Wilson (piano), Dave Barbour (guitar), John Kirby (bass), Cozy Cole (drums)

July 10, 1936 : A5-6 : Bunny Berigan (trumpet), Art Shaw (clarinet), Joe Bushkin (piano), Dick McDonough (guitar), Pete Peterson (bass), Cozy Cole (drums) - This is from Billie’s first session under her own name. 

January 25, 1937 : B1 : Teddy Wilson (piano), Buck Clayton (trumpet), Benny Goodman (clarinet), Lester Young (tenor sax), Freddie Green (guitar), Walter Page (bass), Jo Jones (drums)

June 1, 1937 : B2-3 : Teddy Wilson (piano), Buck Clayton (trumpet), Buster Bailey (clarinet), Lester Young (tenor sax), Freddie Green (guitar), Walter Page (bass), Jo Jones (drums)

June 15, 1937 : B4-5 : Jimmy Sherman (piano), Buck Clayton (trumpet), Ed Hall (clarinet), Lester Young (tenor sax), Freddie Green (guitar), Walter Page (bass), Jo Jones (drums). From Billie’s fifth session under her own name.

June 30, 1936 : B6 : Teddy Wilson, piano; Jonah Jones, trumpet; Johnny Hodges, alto sax; Harry Carney, baritone sax; Lawrence Lucie, guitar;John Kirby, bass; Cozy Cole, drums.

This collection of classic jazz interpretations by Billie Holiday features all-star accompaniments from various sessions from 1935 to 1937. Tracks A5-6 and tracks B4-5 were taken from Billie's first and fifth sessions under her own name.

“When planning this album, I had a hellish time trying to choose what I thought were the absolute cream of Billie Holiday. In the course of this wrestling, it struck me that not only were Billie's vocals incredibly perfect, but that I could not remember a single instance of anyone playing a bad solo or even a bad phrase among the hundred or more performances I had to choose from in the golden period of her work. Checking over records (which was almost unnecessary, because I could still remember them almost note for note) was a rather beautiful and somewhat shattering experience. Jazz, a product of so many things - musical evolution, the social scene of a particular time, the economic atmosphere of the moment, what somebody had for breakfast that day - and none of those things will ever come together again as they did when these records were made." - Excerpt from George Avakian's liner notes