Billie Holiday : Body and Soul

Billie Holiday : Body and Soul


Billie Holiday (lyrics), Ben Webster (tenor sax), Harry 'Sweets' Edison (trumpet), Jimmy Rowles (piano), Barney Kessel (guitar), Red Mitchell (bass), Larry Bunker (drums)

Verve 8197

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Body And Soul
A2 - They Can't Take That Away From Me
A3 - Darn That Dream
A4 - Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
B1 - Comes Love
B2 - Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good To You
B3 - Embraceable You
B4 - Moonlight In Vermont

Recorded on January 3 to 9, 1957

This session comes from close to the end of the line (1959) in the erstwhile swinging company of Barney Kessel on guitar, Ben Webster on tenor, and naysayers will be quick to point out that Lady Day wasn’t in peak form here. But Billie Holiday with some of the platinum chipped off the pipes is still way better than a buncha finger-snappin’ wannabes anyday. Her interpretations of the title cut, “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off,” and “Darn That Dream” hold you in the palm of her hand with their gentle swing and the band support here is never less than stellar. 

Ben Webster, Harry "Sweets" Edison, and the other members of this stellar ensemble were not just gifted soloists but sensitive accompanists as well. Lady Day was rarely more ably supported than she was on this program of sturdy standards -- and she rarely sounded more luminous.The Lady sings and swings.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under