Barney Kessel, Shelly Manne & Ray Brown : The Poll Winners

Barney Kessel, Shelly Manne & Ray Brown : The Poll Winners


Barney Kessel (guitar), Ray Brown (bass), Shelly Manne (drums)

Contemporary 7010

Analogue Productions Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45rpm)

Limited Edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add to Cart

1 - Jordu
2 - Satin Doll
3 - It Could Happen To You
4 - Mean To Me
5 - Don't Worry 'Bout Me
6 - Green Dolphin Street
7 - You Go To My Head
8 - Minor Mood
9 - Nagasaki

Recorded on March 18 & 19, 1957, at Contemporary Records Studio in Los Angeles.

The Poll Winners was the first of five records to be released by Barney Kessel, Shelly Manne and Ray Brown.

Timeless guitar jazz is the theme on The Poll Winners as six-string maestro Barney Kessel's expressive, virtuosic approach takes center stage in this 1957 recording. Joined by bassist Ray Brown and drummer Shelly Manne, Kessel melds effortlessly into the group setting while tastefully affording himself the freedom to let his solo lines flourish.

Brought together by a common thread, Kessel, Brown and Manne actually DID win polls in DownBeat, Playboy, and Metronome in 1956, which is what brought them together for this classic small-group date, which features nine pieces and 40 minutes of expressive, modern jazz. A sensitive, engaging listen, The Poll Winners will reward any attentive jazz fan with new revelations upon each repeat listen. A hallmark of early guitar jazz sessions, this vinyl LP is a welcome addition to casual and serious jazz collectors alike.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray at AcousTech, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at RTI.