A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix

A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix


The music of Jimi Hendrix performed by Lenny Kravitz, Eric Clapton, Prince, Carlos Santana, Sting, John Lee Hooker, Stevie Ray Vaughan e,a,

Recorded in 2004

Experience Hendrix Music 2012

Classic Records : 2 LPs 200 gram (33 rpm)

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Gratitude  : James "Al" Hendrix (guitar)
A2 - Are You Experienced? : Musiq (piano, bass guitar), John Lawson (drums)
A3 - Spanish Castle Magic : Carlos Santana (guitar), Stanley Clarke (bass), Tony Williams (drums), Corey Glover (vocals)
A4 - Purple House  :  Prince (guitar, vocals), Larry Graham (bass)
A5 - The Wind Cries Mary : Sting (bass, vocals), John McLaughlin (guitar), Domenic Miller (rhythm guitar), Vinnie Colaiuta (drums)
B1 - Voodoo Child (Slight Return) : Earth, Wind & Fire : Sheldon Reynolds (vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass), Verdine White (bass),              Gary Bias (saxophone), Reggie Young (trombone), Ray Brown (trumpet), Ricky Lawson (drums), Maurice White (vocals)
B2 - Power Of Soul  :  Bootsy Collins (bass), Chris Walker, Ron Jennings (lead guitar), Phelps "Catfish" Collins (rhythm guitar),                     Joel "Rararsharp" Johnson (keyboards), Melvin Parker (drums)  
B3 - Burning Of The Midnight Lamp : Eric Clapson (vocals, Guitar), Nile Rodgers (guitar), Keith Hilton (keyboards),                                       Tony Thompson (drums)
B4 - Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland) : Lenny Kravitz (guitar, bass, organ, drums, tambourine, vocals),                                           George Laks (piano), Tawatha Agee (vocals)
B5 - 30 Years : James "Al" Hendrix
B6 - Who Knows : Devoted Spirits : Sheldon Reynolds (guitar, bass, vocals), George Duke, Larry Dunn (Keyboards),                                     Morris Pleasure (bass), Ricky Lawson (drums) 
B7 - The Wind Cries Mary : Seal (guitar, piano, vocals)
C1 - Purple Haze : Robert Randolph & The Family Band : Robert Randolph (guitar, vocals), Jason Crosby (keyboards, violin),                        Danyel Morgan (bass), Marcus Randolph (drums)
C2 - Going Home : Velvet Turner (guitar), Sheldon Reynolds (organ, vocals)
C3 - Little Wing ; Kenny Olson (guitar), Chaka Khan (vocals), Dinky Bingham (keyboards), Jack Daly (bass), Steven Wolf (drums)
C4 - Castles Made of Sand : Sounds of Blackness (vocals), Sheldon Reynolds (guitar, bass, keyboards), Derek Clark (keyboards)
C5 - May This Be Love : Eric Gales (guitar, bass, percussion, vocals)
D1 - Foxey Lady : Sheldon Reynolsa, Charles Pettaway (guitar), Daniel Moore (keyboards), Aaron Clay (bass), Mark May (drums), James Young (percussion), Thomas Callaway (vocals)
D2 - Red House : John Lee Hooker (guitar, vocals), John Allair (guitar, vocals), Dany Caron (guitar), Victor Bisetti (drums)
D3 - Little Wing / 3rd Stone From The Sun : Stevie Ray Vaughan (guitar), Tommy Shannon (bass), Chris Layton (drums)

This star-studded musical tribute to Jimi Hendrix is highlighted by contributions by artists from rock, R&B, blues and funk. Each of these artists bears witness to Hendrix’s imprint on their own music. From the contemporary R&B stylings of Musiq to the deep country blues of John Lee Hooker, Jimi’s creative spirit-the pure inventive freedom he drew upon to originate these signature songs-stands undiminished.

This special project features new interpretations of Hendrix’s classics from a host a music’s biggest stars including Lenny Kravitz, Sting, Santana, Eric Clapton, John Lee Hooker, Stevie Ray Vaughan, George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, Earth Wind & Fire, and numerous others.

While Power Of Soul was created to pay homage to Jimi’s influence on popular music, another very important component of this project-wholly embraced by the album’s executive producers and participating artists-was the commitment to continue supporting a scholarship fund in Jimi Hendrix’s name at the United Negro College Fund.

This Classic Records LP was remastered from the original studio master tapes, using pure analogue components only through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at RTI.