Duke Ellington : The Nutcracker Suite

Duke Ellington : The Nutcracker Suite


Duke Ellington (piano), Johnny Hodges, Russell Procope, Paul Gonsalves, Jimmy Hamilton, Harry Carney (sax), Ray Nance, Willie Cook, Andres Meringuito, Eddie Mullins (trumpets), Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown, Britt Woodman, Booty Wood (trombone), Aaron Bell (bass),  Sam Woodyard (drums)

Columbia 8072

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - Overture
A2 - Toot Toot Tootsie Toot (Dance of the Reed - Pipes)
A3 - Peanut Brittle Brigade (March)
A4 - Sugar Rum Cherry (Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy)
A5 - Entr'acte
B1 - The Volga Vouty (Russian Dance)
B2 - Chinoiserie (Chinese Dance)
B3 - Dance of the Floreadores (Waltz of the Flowers)
B4 - Arabesque Cookie (Arabian Dance)

Recorded on May 26, 31 and June 3, 21–22, 1960 at Radio Recorders, Los Angeles.

In 1960, Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn arranged their own virtuosic adaptation of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's "The Nutcracker Suite" for the Duke Ellington Orchestra. Featuring nine cleverly arranged movements (boasting equally smart titles like "Toot Toot Tootie Toot" and "Sugar Rum Cherry"), it’s the quintessential Ellington blend of wit and sophistication. 

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.