Duke Ellington : The Cosmic Scene

Duke Ellington : The Cosmic Scene


The Cosmic Scene : Duke Ellington’s Spacemen

Duke Ellington (piano), and his Spacemen : Paul Gonsalves (tenor sax), Clark Terry (trumpet), Britt Woodman, John Sanders, Quentin Jackson (trombone), Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet), Duke Ellington (p), Jimmy Wood (bass), Sam Woodyard (drums)

Columbia 1198

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Avalon
A2 - Body And Soul
A3 - Bass-ment
A4 - Early Autumn
A5 - Jones
B1 - Perdido
B2 - St. Louis Blues
B3 - Spacemen
B4 - Midnight Sun
B5 - Take The "A" Train

Recorded on April 2 & 3, 1958, at Columbia 30th Street Studios, New York City.

"Still riding the success of his triumphant concert at the 1956 Newport Jazz Festival, Duke Ellington in 1958 decided to reduce his touring orchestra to a nonet dubbed 'the Spacemen,' and recorded this lone project with them for the Columbia label. Perhaps inspired by the first orbiting satellites, Ellington is not taking cues from George Russell or Sun Ra, whose extraterrestrial inspirations led them to even more progressive paths. This large ensemble is playing mostly standards, but the arrangements and solos carve an integrated yet elasticized concept that allows for a more expanded role for the ensemble's trombonists Quentin 'Butter' Jackson, John Sanders, and Britt Woodman, and select soloists... There are two originals; the blues bass of Jimmy Woode and the 'bones with plentiful piano from Duke infusing 'Bass-Ment,' and one of the more delightful of all of Ellington's book, the poppin' and boppin' 'Spacemen,' a bright happy horn chart led by Terry that is one of the more distinctive Ellington numbers of this time period. It comes highly recommended." - Michael G. Nastos, allmusic.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.