Duke Ellington : Newport 1958

Duke Ellington : Newport 1958


Duke Ellington (conductor, piano), Johnny Hodges, Russell Procope (saxophone), Gerry Mulligan (bassoon), Ray Nance (trumpet), Britt Woodman (trombone), Jimmy Wood (bass), Sam Woodyard (drums)

Columbia 8072

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Just Scratchin' The Surface
A2 - El Gato
A3 - Happy Reunion
A4 - Multicolored Blue      
A5 - Princess Blue      
B1 - Jazz Festival Jazz    
B2 - Mr. Gentle And Mr. Cool
B3 - Juniflip    
B4 - Prima Bara Dubla   
B5 - Hi Fi Fo Fum  

Recorded on July 3, 1958 at Newport Jazz Festival and July 21, 1958 at Columbia 30th Street Studios, New York City.

On the evening of July 3, 1958, Duke Ellington closed the first evening of the Newport Jazz Festival with a set that included quite a bit of new, unfamiliar material in addition to old favorites. But difficulties with the sound, among them some rough ensemble passages, stray noises on-stage, and occasionally off-mike solos caused Ellington to choose to re-record several selections in the studio for what was first issued on LP as Live at Newport 1958, with added live announcements and overdubbed applause. This two-CD set includes the entire live set, warts and all, while omitting the separate studio re-creations. Historically, it is an important release in that the performances are preserved intact, with outstanding solos by Paul Gonsalves ("Happy Reunion") and flügelhornist Clark Terry ("Juniflip"), along with the pairing of Shorty Baker (trumpet) with violinist Ray Nance in "Mr. Gentle and Mr. Cool" and guest Gerry Mulligan joining Harry Carney for the baritone sax feature "Prima Bara Dubla." 

Newport 1958 was first recorded at the Newport Jazz Festival and later in the Columbia recording studio. During this time, Duke was frequently re-recording pieces that were performed live in the studio to be included on "live" albums. This was because he felt the live performances were not up to his standards. Only the tracks, "Just Scratchin' the Surface" and "Prima Bara Dubla" are from Newport.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com