Sammy Davis Jr. & Count Basie

Sammy Davis Jr. & Count Basie


Sammy Davis Jr. & the Count Basie Orchestra : Our shining hour

Verve 8605

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - My Shining Hour
A2 - Teach Me Tonight
A3 - Work Song
A4 - Why Try To Change Me Now
A5 - Blues For Mr. Charlie
A6 - April In Paris 
B1 - New York City Blues
B2 - You're Nobody Till Somebody Loves You
B3 - She's A Woman
B4 - The Girl From Ipanema
B5 - Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now
B6 - Bill Basie, Won't You Please Come Home

Recorded on September 2–5, 1964, in New York City.

A brilliant album that follows on the trend that was begun by Sinatra and Tony Bennett, one that takes strong jazz backings from Count Basie to push a singer past the usual pop format! Sammy didn't always get backing this strong, and the album has got Quincy Jones handling the arrangements for Basie in the same mode that he used on the Sinatra/Basie sides for Reprise. Titles include "The Girl From Ipanema", "She's A Woman", "New York City Blues", "Work Song", and "Blues For Mr Charlie"; and the album even features Sammy doing a bit of tap dancing!

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under