Miles Davis : Someday my Prince will Come

Miles Davis : Someday my Prince will Come


Miles Davis (trumpet), Hank Mobley (tenor sax), Wynton Kelly (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), Jimmy Cobb (drums)Columbia 8456

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - Someday My Prince Will Come
A2 - Old Folks
A3 - Pfrancing
B1 - rad-Dog
B2 - Teo
B3 - I Thought About You

Recorded on March 7, 20, 21, 1961 at Columbia 30th Street, New York City.

Someday My Prince Will Come is the seventh studio album by Miles Davis for Columbia. It is the only Miles Davis Quintet studio recording session to feature saxophonist Hank Mobley. 

Unlike Kind of Blue, which featured nothing but group originals, this album paired equal numbers of Miles Davis tunes and pop standards, including the title song resurrected from the 1937 Disney film Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. The titles to all three Davis originals refer to specific individuals: "Pfrancing" to his wife Frances, featured on the album cover, "Teo" to his producer Teo Macero and "Drad Dog" (Goddard reversed) to Columbia Records president Goddard Lieberson . While the cover credits the Miles Davis Sextet, only the title track featured six players, Coltrane making two cameo appearances on the album, taking solos on the title track and "Teo", playing instead of Mobley on the latter. On March 21, ex-Davis drummer Philly Joe Jones made his final contribution to a Davis session, replacing Cobb for the original "Blues No. 2", which was not used on the album.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.