Miles Davis : 'Round about Midnight

Miles Davis : 'Round about Midnight


Miles Davis (trumpet), John Coltrane (tenor sax), Red Garland (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), Philly Joe Jones (drums) 

Columbia 949

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - 'Round Midnight
A2 - Ah-Leu-Cha
A3 - All of You
B1 - Bye Bye Blackbird
B2 - Tadd's Delight
D3 - Dear Old Stockholm

Recorded on October 26, 1955 and June 5 & September 10, 1956 at Columbia 30th Street Studio, New York City

In 1955, Miles Davis signed with jazz powerhouse Columbia Records and immediately began recording 'Round About Midnight. Although he was still under contract with Prestige Records, an agreement stipulated that he could record material for Columbia, to be released after the expiration of his contract with Prestige. The album took its name from the Thelonious Monk song "'Round Midnight".

'Round About Midnight was the first recording with Davis's new quintet, composed of Philly Joe Jones on drums, Paul Chambers on bass, Red Garland on piano, and a young John Coltrane on tenor sax. Featuring standards like Bye Bye Blackbird and the title track 'Round Midnight, this record is considered by some to be one of the pinnacles of the hard bop era.

For a seasoned veteran or a jazz newcomer, this record represents the origins of post-bop modern jazz and is an absolute necessity for any vinyl collection. 

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under