Miles Davis : Friday and Saturday Nights

Miles Davis : Friday and Saturday Nights


Miles Davis : Friday and Saturday nights In Person at The Blackhawk, San Francisco

Miles Davis (trumpet), Hank Mobley (tenor sax), Wynton Kelly (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), Jimmy Cobb (drums)

Columbia C2S 820

Impex Records : 2 LPs 180 gram  (33 rpm)

Limited edition : 2,000 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Walkin' 
A2 - Bye Bye Blackbird
B1 - All Of You
B2 - No Blues
B3 - Bye Bye
B4 - Love, I've Found You
C1 - Well You Needn't
C2 - Fran-Dance
C3 - So What
D1 - Oleo
D2 - If I Were A Bell
D3 - Neo

Recorded on April 21 and 22, 1961 at the Black Hawk in San Francisco.

In Person Friday and Saturday Nights at the Blackhawk, Complete, also called The Complete Blackhawk, is a collection of the 1961 live performances of the Miles Davis Quintet at the Black Hawk nightclub in San Francisco. These sets, performed with recording in mind, forged new ground for jazz musician Miles Davis, who had never previously been recorded live in a club with his combo.

Miles Davis is here at an interesting crossroads, transitioning from the band that produced Sketches of Spain, Davis pairs here with players that would be featured on his following studio album, Someday My Prince Will Come, released in the fall of 1961.

The original album cover displayed a photograph by Leigh Wiener of Miles Davis and his first wife, Frances Taylor, for whom the song "Fran-Dance” was composed.

This Impex album was remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearant Audio, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 180-gram virgin vinyl at RTI.


limited edition.png