Miles Davis : Ascenseur pour l'échafaud

Miles Davis : Ascenseur pour l'échafaud


Music of Louis Malle's movie "Ascenseur pour l'échafaud" (Lift to the Scaffold) 

Miles Davis (trumpet), Barney Wilen (tenor sax), René Utreger (piano), Pierre Michelot (bass), Kenny Clarke (drums)

Fontana 660213

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Generique
A2 - L'Assassinat de Carala
A3 - Sur L'Autoroute
A4 - Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
A5 - Florence Sur Les champs-Elysees
B1 - Diner Au Motel
B2 - Evasion De Julien
B3 - Visite Du Vigile
B4 - Au Bar Du Petit Bac
B5 - Chez Le Photographe Du Motel

Recorded on December 4, 1957 at Le Poste Parisien in Paris.

In 1957, Miles Davis is in Paris for an engagement at the Club Saint Germain and a wonderful concert at the Olympia Theatre. Once in Paris, Miles came into contact with many members of the modern existentialist cultural environment in the neighbourhood of Saint Germain des Prés. These include the director Louis Malle who had just finished his first movie : "Ascenceur pour l'échafaud". Jean-Paul Rappeneau, a jazz fan and Louis Malle's assistant at the time, suggested asking Miles Davis to create the film's soundtrack, A private sceening was organized. On December 4, 1957, Miles Davis brought three French jazzmen : Barney Willen on tenor saxophone, René Urtreger on piano, Pierre Michelot on bass and his American compatriot Kenny Clarke on drums, to the recording studio Le Poste Parisien without having them prepare anything. Miles Davis only gave the musicians a few rudimentary harmonic sequences he had assembled in his hotel room.This recording was made at night in a most informal atmosphere.

The soundtrack was not released in it's own in the USA but ten songs from this soundtrack were releases as one side of the album "Jazz Track" which received a 1960 Grammy nomination for Best Jazz Performance, Solo or Small Group.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under