Kenny Dorham : Quiet Kenny

Kenny Dorham : Quiet Kenny


Kenny Dorham (trumpet), Tommy Flanagan (piano), Paul Chambers (bass), Art Taylor (drums)

Prestige New Jazz 8225

Analogue Productions - Quality Records : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add to Cart

A1 - Lotus Blossom
A2 - My Ideal
A3 - Blue Friday
A4 - Alone Together
B1 - Blue Spring Shuffle
B2 - I Had the Craziest Dream
B3 - Old Folks
B4 - Mack the Knife

Recorded on November 13, 1959 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.

Quiet Kenny is yet another reminder of what a trumpet giant Kenny Dorham was. Whether illuminating ballads such as "My Ideal," "Alone Together," "I Had the Craziest Dream," and "Old Folks," or investigating the timelessness and intricacies of the blues (his originals in this set with "Blue" in their titles), the former Charlie Parker cohort and ex-Jazz Messenger exhibits his subtle swing, personal sound, and finely-honed harmonic sense. Along the way these reflections and connections with Bird, Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Rollins, Max Roach, Harry James, and Louis Armstrong make for a rich legacy. With Tommy Flanagan, Paul Chambers and Arthur Taylor.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

Part of the ultimate audiophile Prestige stereo reissues from Analogue Productions, 25 of the most collectible, rarest, most audiophile-sounding Rudy Van Gelder recordings ever made. All mastered from the original analogue master tapes by mastering maestro Kevin Gray. 200-gram LPs pressed at state-of-the-art plant Quality Record Pressings and plated by Gary Salstrom. Deep groove label pressings, tip-on jackets on thick cardboard stock.