Gil Evans : New Bottle, Old Wine

Gil Evans : New Bottle, Old Wine


Gil Evans (piano), Cannonball Adderley (alto sax), Johnny Coles, Ernie Roya, Louis Muccl, Clyde Reasinger (trumpet), Julius Watkins (French horn), Phil Bodner, Jerry Sanfino (reeds), Frank Rehak, Joe Bennett, Tom Mitchell (trombone), Harvey Philips, Bill Barber (tuba), Chuck Wayne (guitar), Paul Chambers (bass), Art Blakey, Philly Joe Jones (drums)

World Pacific 1011

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - St. Louis Blues
A2 - King Porter Stomp
A3 - Willow Tree
A4 - Struttin' With Some Barbecue
B1 - Lester Leaps In
B2 - 'Round About Midnight
B3 - Manteca!
B4 - Bird Feathers

Recorded on April 9 and May 26, 1958, in New York City.

New Bottle Old Wine is a suite of songs written by and/or associated with major jazz musicians and composers, in original arrangements by Gil Evans, featuring Cannonball Adderley as the main soloist (like the previous albums Gil Evans made with Miles Davis, including Miles Ahead, Porgy and Bess, and Sketches of Spain). The orchestra also featured a number of important players including Bill Barber, Frank Rehak, Johnny Coles, Art Blakey, and Paul Chambers.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.