George Duke : Follow the Rainbow

George Duke : Follow the Rainbow


George Duke (vocals, keyboards), Larry Williams (tenor sax, flute), Eric Culver (trombone), Charles Icarus Johnson (guitar), Byron Miller (bass), Ricky Lawson, Leon 'Ndugu' Chandler (drums), Sheila Escovedo (percussion, vocals), a.o.

Epic 35701

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - Party Down
A2 - Say That You Will
A3 - Funkin' For the Thrill
A4 - Sunrise
A5 - Festival
B1 - I Am For Real (May the Funk Be With You)
B2 - Straight From the Heart
B3 - Corine
B4 - Pluck
B5 - Follow the Rainbow

Recorded in 1979 at Westlake Recording, Los Angeles, and at Electric Lady Studios, New York City.

The fusion movement has a lot in common with a tropical storm: it rages fiercely in its early phases but becomes less wild later on, yet still blows a gale. In the eye of the storm that tore its path through the various musical styles and genres as from 1960 is George Duke, who entered into creative and stormy partnerships with such artists as Frank Zappa, Miles Davis and Jean-Luc Ponty. The rainbow colors with which Duke chose to tint this album are taken less from the paintpots of fusion jazz and rock, and rather more from the black, natural colors of rhythm and blues. Next to a relaxed love groove ("Say That You Will") we find a polyphonic vocal number with solos ("Sunrise"), which conjures up the nostalgic atmosphere of Motown, now on the decline. Then there is snappy funk in all manner of variations, such as "Party Down", which swings trendily along but then comes over unfiltered and dry as a bone.
In "Follow The Rainbow", genial musicianship, expert arrangements and a special feeling for resonance amalgamate to create a tightly-knit sound which is ever fresh and easy-going.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under