Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong : Ella and Louis Again, vol. 1 & 2

Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong : Ella and Louis Again, vol. 1 & 2


Ella Fitzgerald (vocals), Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet), Oscar Peterson (piano), Herb Ellis (guitar), Ray Brown (bass), Louie Bellson (drums)

Verve 4006  

Speakers Corner Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (33rpm)

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

This Speakers Corner double LP is “Ella and Louis Again, volumes 1 & 2”, a total of 19 tracks.
The Analogue Productions 45rpm double LP is “Ella and Louis Again, volume 1”, 9 tracks only!

A1 - Don't Be That Way
A2 - Makin' Whoopee
A3 - They All Laughed
A4 - Comes Love
A5 - Autumn In New York
B1 - Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)
B2 - Stompin' At The Savoy
B3 - I Won't Dance
B4 - Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good To You?
C1 - Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
C2 - These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
C3 - I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
C4 - Willow Weep For Me
C5 - I'm Puttin' All My Eggs In One Basket
D1 - A Fine Romance
D2 - Ill Wind
D3 - Love Is Here To Stay
D4 - I Get A Kick Out Of You
D5 - Learnin' The Blues

Ella and Louis. No last names are necessary, and no explanation is needed for why this was a musical match made in jazz heaven. Ella and Louis Again was recorded a year after the classic Ella and Louis, and it is a triumphant reunion - the level of artistry is just as high, the magic just as potent. With stellar support from the Oscar Peterson Trio and drummer Louie Bellson, and a repertoire that digs deep into the Great American Songbook, these two masters offer a textbook example of how this music should be sung-and swung.

”There isn't much one can say about an album whose title is Ella And Louis Again. The 'again' obviously means they've already done one album together and beyond that, what can you say about two people like Ella and Louis? I doubt that there's anyone today who loves music, who doesn't know Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong. About all that can be pointed out, I suppose, is that we've again selected some of the best product of some of the best songwriters of our age. The backing, with the Oscar Peterson Trio and Louis Bellson substituting for Buddy Rich, remains, as in the first album, quiet, discreet, swinging." - Norman Granz, from the original liner notes of Ella and Louis Again.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com