Ella Fitzgerald sings the Johnny Mercer Songbook

Ella Fitzgerald sings the Johnny Mercer Songbook


Ella Fitzgerald with Nelson Riddle and his Orchestra

Verve 4067

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Too Marvelous For Words (Richard A. Whiting)
A2 - Early Autumn (Ralph Burns)
A3 - Day In-Day Out (Rube Bloom)
A4 - Laura, from the film "Laura" (David Raskin)
A5 - This Time The Dream's On Me (Harold Arlen)
A6 - Skylark (Hoagy Carmichael)  
A7 - Single 'O (Donald Kahn, Johnny Mercer)
B1 - Something's Gotta Give  (Mercer)
B2 - Trav'lin' Light (Jimmy Mundy, Trummy Young) 
B3 - Midnight Sun (Francis J. Burke, Lionel Hampton)  
B4 - Dream  (Mercer)
B5 - I Remember You (victor Shertzinger)
B6 - When A Woman Loves A Man (bernie Hanighen, Gordon Jenkins)

Recorded on October 19–21, 1964 at Capitol Studio in Los Angeles.

Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Johnny Mercer Song Book is Fitzgerald's seventh and final Song Book. It is also the only Song Book to concentrate on the work of a lyricist (composers mentioned between brackets).  

Along with her Rodgers and Hart collection, this is one of the best of Ella Fitzgerald's songbooks. Fitzgerald's assured and elegant voice is a perfect match for Mercer's urbane lyrics and Nelson Riddle's supple arrangements. In light of this decorous setting, it's not surprising that Mercer's swagger-heavy numbers like "I Wanna Be Around" and "One More For My Baby" are skipped in favor of more poised selections such as "Early Autumn" and "Skylark." Even traditionally hard-swinging numbers such as "Day In Day Out" and "Something's Gotta Give" are kept in check with Riddle's vaporous, flute-heavy backing and Fitzgerald's velvet tone. Slower numbers like "Laura" and "Midnight Sun" add dramatic contrast with their enigmatic tonal backdrops and elongated vocal phrasing. Fitzgerald's Mercer songbook has become something of an overlooked gem partly because of the popularity of her Cole Porter and Gershwin collections. It's a shame, because this songbook is beautifully executed by Fitzgerald and Riddle and contains wonderful Mercer collaborations with, among others, Harold Arlen and Hoagy Charmichael. This is definitely one for any Fitzgerald fan.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com