Ella Fitzgerald sings the Cole Porter Songbook

Ella Fitzgerald sings the Cole Porter Songbook


Ella Fitzgerald with Buddy Bregman and his Orchestra

Verve 4001-2

Speakers Corner Records : 2 LPs 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - All Through The Night
A2 - Anything Goes
A3 - Miss Otis Regrets
A4 - Too Darn Hot
A5 - In The Still Of The Night
A6 - I Get A Kick Out Of You
A7 - Do I Love You
A8 - Always True To You In My Fashion
B1 - Let's Do It
B2 - Just One Of Those Things
B3 - Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
B4 - All Of You
B5 - Begin The Beguine
B6 - Get Out Of Town
B7 - I Am In Love
B8 - From This Moment On
C1 - I Love Paris
C2 - You Do Something To Me
C3 - Ridin' High
C4 - Easy To Love
C5 - It's All Right With Me
C6 - Why Can't You Behave
C7 - What Is This Thing Called Love
C8 - You're The Top
D1 - Love For Sale
D2 - It's Delovely
D3 - Night And Day
D4 - Ace In The Hole
D5 - So In Love
D6 - I've Got You Under My Skin
D7 - I Concentrate On You
D8 - Don't Fence Me In

Recorded on February 7–9, 1956 and March 27, 1956 at Capitol Studios in Los Angeles.

The year 1956 documented a great chapter in the history of jazz music: Norman Granz founded his third label, VERVE, managed to win Ella Fitzgerald (who has deserted DECCA) and initiated the Songbook Series which not only attracted a totally new listening public, but also established Ella’s reputation as the First Lady of Song.

The Cole Porter Songbook marked the glorious beginning of a series which finally expanded to seven titles. The recording’s success was practically a foregone conclusion. Porter had written hundreds of wonderful songs from which Granz made an initial choice of 50 songs before Ella and the bandleader and arranger Buddy Bregman finally decided upon what was, for them, the crème de la crème. The result was a list of 32 songs, all of which make easy listening not only thanks to their melodic originality and harmonic genius but particularly to the wonderful amalgamation of the text - which Porter always wrote himself - and the music. Each and every one is a classic in its own right. Bregman’s arrangements never seek to disguise the fact that all these songs originated on Broadway, and Ella proves her greatness by finding something new in such old favorites as “Night and Day”, “I Love Paris” and “I Get A Kick Out Of You”. And as if that wasn’t enough, Bregman’s orchestra sounds absolutely splendid. 

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com