Ella Fitzgerald : Clap Hands Here Comes Charlie

Ella Fitzgerald : Clap Hands Here Comes Charlie


Ella Fitzgerald (vocals), Lou Levy (piano), Herb Ellis (guitar), Joe Mondragon (bass), Stan Levey (drums)

Verve 4053

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Night In Tunisia
A2 - You're My Thrill
A3 - My Reverie
A4 - Stella My Starlight
A5 - 'Round Midnite
A6 - Jersey Bounce
A7 - Signing Off
B1 - Cry Me A River
B2 - This Year's Kisses
B3 - Good Morning Heartache
B4 - (I Was) Born To Be Blue
B5 - Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie!
B6 - Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most
B7 - Music Goes 'Round and 'Round

Recorded on January 23 and June 22–23, 1961 at Capitol Studio in Los Angeles.

Dubbed "The First Lady of Song," Ella Fitzgerald was the most popular female jazz singer in the United States for more than half a century. In her lifetime, she won 13 Grammy awards and sold over 40 million albums.
Her voice was flexible, wide-ranging, accurate and ageless. With a vocal range spanning three octaves, she was noted for her purity of tone, impeccable diction, phrasing and intonation, and a "horn-like" improvisational ability, particularly in her scat singing. Fitzgerald was a notable interpreter of the Great American Songbook.
She could sing sultry ballads, sweet jazz and imitate every instrument in an orchestra. She worked with all the jazz greats, from Duke Ellington, Count Basie and Nat King Cole, to Frank Sinatra, Dizzy Gillespie and Benny Goodman. (Or rather, some might say all the jazz greats had the pleasure of working with Ella).

"...a superior representation of the singer as a jazz interpreter. This set is one of her best." - John Tynan, Down Beat, 1962

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com