Duke Ellington : The Feeling of Jazz

Duke Ellington : The Feeling of Jazz


Duke Ellington (piano), Ray Nance (vocals, violin, trumpet, cornet) Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone), Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone), Harry Carney (clarinet, baritone saxophone), Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone),  Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone), Harold Baker, Bill Berry , Roy Burrowes, Cat Anderson (trumpet),  Leon Cox, Lawrence Brown , Chuck Connors, Buster Cooper (trombone), Sam Woodyard (drums)

Black Lion 60102

ORGM Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Taffy Twist
A2 - Flirtbird
A3 - Smada
A4 - What Am I Here For
A5 - Take the 'A' Train
B1 - I'm Gonna Go Fishin'
B2 - Boo-Dah
B3 - Black and Tan Fantasy
B4 - The Feeling of Jazz
B5 - Jump for Joy
B6 - I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart/Don't Get Around Much Anymore

Recorded in 1962 at Bell Sound Studios, New York City.

Age never slowed Duke Ellington. Recorded at four different sessions in 1962 at Bell Studio in 1962, The Feeling of Jazz is one of the rarest titles America’s greatest composer ever released, and contains both never-before-heard originals as well as reinterpretations of Ellington classics. Performed by the Duke Ellington Orchestra, which included players such as Paul Gonsalves, Johnny Hodges, Harold Baker, and Jimmy Hamilton, the material contains a wealth of spot-on solos and stop-on-a-dime changes.

Originally released by the UK label Black Lion, an imprint that specialized in resurrecting rare gems from US jazz and blues legends, The Feeling of Jazz represents a critical juncture in Ellington’s career and a can’t-miss opportunity for collectors and enthusiasts to get closer to the man and his music. Helmed by ORG Music, this historical reissue is afforded the ultimate in audiophile production standards, resulting in sonics and presentation befitting the museum-like worth of this record’s existence.

This ORG Music LP was remastered by Bernie Grundman, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at Pallas