Duke Ellington : Indigos

Duke Ellington : Indigos


Duke Ellington (piano), Johnny Hodges (alto sax), Harry Carney, Russell Procope, Jimmy Hamilton, Paul Gonsalves (sax), Ray Nance, "Cat" Anderson, "Shorty" Baker, Clark Terry, Willie Cook (trumpet), John Sanders, Britt Woodman, Quentin Jackson (trombone), Jimmy Wood (bass), Sam Woodyard (drums)

Columbia 4444

Impex Records : LP 180 gram

Limited edition

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Solitude
A2 - Where Or When
A3 - Mood Indigo
A4 - Autumn Leaves
B1 - Prelude To a Kiss
B2 - Willow Weep For Me
B3 - Tenderly
B4 - Dancing In the Dark

Recorded on March 13 and September 9 to October 14, 1957 at Columbia 30th Street Studio, New York City.

The legendary composer and bandleader Duke Ellington was so famous for his poise and charm that it should be no surprise that he had a pithy story at the ready whenever he was asked about one of his most famous and enduring works, "Mood Indigo." Of the song he and his orchestra recorded for the very first time on this day in 1930, Ellington was fond of saying, "Well, I wrote that in 15 minutes while I was waiting for my mother to finish cooking dinner." As neatly as that version fit with his well-tended reputation for effortless sophistication, the true account of the song's development reflects the gifts for collaboration and adaptation that were always critical elements of Ellington's genius.

The genesis of "Mood Indigo" was a visit to New York City in 1930 by a New Orleans jazzman named Lorenzo Tio, Jr. Duke Ellington's clarinetist, Barney Bigard, was a former student of Tio's, and on Tio's visit to New York, he shared with Bigard a number of melodies he'd written, including one called "Dreamy Blues" that had served as the theme song for his group back home, Armand Piron's New Orleans Orchestra. "I asked him if I could borrow it," Bigard later wrote in his autobiography. "I took it home and kept fooling around with it...and got something together that mostly was my own but partly Tio's." Bigard's variation on "Dreamy Blues" would soon become the clarinet solo on "Mood Indigo," thanks to Duke Ellington's penchant for involving his band members in his composition process... With lyrics added by Mitchell Parish in 1931 (but credited to Ellington's manager Irving Mills), "Mood Indigo" became a vocal-jazz standard as well as an instrumental one, recorded memorably by Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra and Nina Simone among many others.

This Impex LP was remastered by Kevin Gray, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 180-gram virgin vinyl at RTI.

limited edition.png